Join our Mailing List

"We Tibetans are looking for a legitimate and meaningful autonomy, an arrangement that would enable Tibetans to live within the framework of the People’s Republic of China."
<-Back to WTN Archives WTN ARCHIVE - December, 1997

WTN Archives: December, 1997

Monday, December 1

1. Human rights protesters dog Chinese president in Canada (AFP)
2. Message must get through (CS)
3. Chinese officials to spread anti-Dalai campaign to Tibetan society (AFP)
4. An exotic tale of Tibet, monks and murders (PI)

Tuesday, December 2

1. Getting real on Tibet (IE)
2. Seminar told to Recognise the Tibetan government in exile
3. French Explorer Discovers Hive Dwellings in Tibet (Reuters)

Thursday, December 4

1. China deals ignore human and environmental issues
2. Philip Glass Score to Scorsese's "Kundun" Released by Nonesuch

Friday, December 5

1. HK Film Industry Denies Censorship on Tibet Movies (Reuters)
2. South Africa: Objects with Soul

Saturday, December 6

1. Tibetan monk relates ordeal of years in prison (CH)
2. Idealised, trivialised, distorted Hollywood celebrates the Dalai Lama.

Sunday, December 7

1. BILLION-DOLLAR BUDDY
2. Campus link to Buddhist groups shamed by 'sinister allegations'

Monday, December 8

1. New Party Chief in Lhasa; Chinese Heads Lhokha Government (TIN)

Tuesday, December 9

1. All alone on top of the world

Wednesday, December 10

1. Culture: in Exile, Tibetans Preserve Their Culture
2. Wei Jingsheng Renewed Critisism at Clinton-Wei Meeting
3. TIBETAN LEADERS MEET CHINESE DISSIDENT
4. TIBETAN YOUTH CONGRESS STATEMENT ON HUMAN RIGHTS DAY (December 10,1997)
5. Kundun: The Movie China doesn't want the world to see

Thursday, December 11

1. Tibet leader sees anti-China campaign soon (Reuters)
2. Hollywood Still Wants China Film Business
3. Human Rights Dialogue Achieving Results - Downer
4. Understanding Tibet (Washington Post)

Friday, December 12

1. Tibet delegation visits Norway, Germany (TIN)
2. Chinese Dissident Jailed for Supporting Tibet (TYC)
3. A NEW PRISONER SUCCUMBED TO TORTURES IN JAIL
4. TYC to intensify struggle for freedom

Saturday, December 13

1. On My Mind: From Scorsese to Tibet
2. Fight against Dalai Lama matter of 'life or death', says China
3. Dalai Lama's representative arrives in Taiwan
4. Tibetans protest against China (AFP)
5. Young Tibetans protest against China over human rights
6. Tibetans arrested after storming Delhi Chinese trade exhibition

Sunday, December 15

1. Study of 1,200 Tibetan Officials: New Leadership Emerges -

Monday, December 15 (2)

1. Secret high level Chinese visitors to Australia
2. REVIEW/FILM: Scorsese's 'Kundun' Quietly Eloquent
3. Reports of Tibetan protests in New Delhi

Tuesday, December 16

1. Foreign Aid Worker Forced Out, EU Project under Scrutiny
2. EU-CHINA ROW: GLENYS URGES FREEZING OF FUNDS
3. Cadres wield power behind scenes in Tibet
4. Li Ruihuan, arrives in Canberra
5. A Special Industry Screening of ``Kundun''

Wednesday, December 17

1. Letter to the Editors from Lhasang Tsering
2. Tibetan separatists becoming more active, says China
3. Governor of Tibet on first visit to Germany
4. A Kinder, Gentler Premiere
5. China hits out at Hollywood over "cheap" Tibet film
6. Euro-MP wants halt to EU aid for Tibet

Thursday, December 18

1. THE GOD IN EXILE A VISIT WITH THE LEADER OF TIBET, THE SUBJECT OF A NEW MOVIE, BUT A STAR WITHOUT A STAGE (Time Magazine)
2. Fest depicts Tibetan struggle
3. Kundun Reviewed in Newsweek magazine
4. Two Tibet Films nominated for Golden Globe Awards

Friday, December 19

1. China says to help EU officials in Tibet aid plan
2. China's Li Ruihuan's visit to Australia

Saturday, December 20

1. Controls on Internet Access Being Abandoned (CND)
2. Scholar: Film about Tibet distorts facts

Sunday, December 21

1. FREEDOM FOR TIBET/DEMOCRACY IN CHINA-FAX ! - #66 >

Monday, December 22

1. Jurists Call for Referendum on Status of Tibet
2. Tibet "Under Alien Subjugation" -- Jurists' Body
3. Jurists urge referendum for Tibet
4. TIBET REFERENDUM

Tuesday, December 23

1. Jurist Call for Referendum on Status of Tibet
2. China Rejects Tibetan Independence Poll
3. China slams jurists' Tibet report as defilement

Wednesday, December 24

1. Executive Summary - Jurists Call for Referendum on Status of Tibet
2. Chinese Editorial Plays Up Harrer's Nazi Connection

Thursday, December 25

1. A&E (Cable) To Air The Dalai Lama: The Soul of Tibet
2. `Kundun' -- Slow traveling on road to enlightenment
3. Severe snowfalls strand Tibetan herdsmen

Friday, December 26

1. FROM THE HIMALAYAS TO HOLLYWOOD: THE LEGACY OF LOST HORIZON
2. PROJECTING TIBET
3. Between the Image and the Reality

Saturday, December 27

1. Scorsese Explores Foreign Territory With 'Kundun'
2. `Kundun' Lacks a Certain Presence

Sunday, December 28

1. Critic's Rating *** Kundun
2. `Season for Nonviolence' Event
3. Beijing Rejects Call for Tibetan Referendum
4. Hollywood Warned about Films on Tibet
5. Beijing Invites US Religious Leaders to Visit Tibet in February

Monday, December 29

1. Chinese dissident claims police harassment after free union call (AFP)
2. Over 104 political prisoners being held in Bhutan: human rights group

Tuesday, December 30

1. China Clamps New Controls on Internet (Reuters)
2. China Internet rules won't affect HK, telecom boss

Wednesday, December 31

1. Repression Increasing in Tibet, Group Says
2. So far from home: Tibetans make a risky journey to find freedom in another country


WTN Index - Mail the WTN-Editors

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank